Using BitTorrent on DHNet

• Using BitTorrent on DHNet

I'm a freshman at UF this year and I was wondering if anybody knows how to run BitTorrent software on their computer while using the school's network DHNet. I've always used BitTorrent to get all of my music and it's pretty shitty to have to just stop getting new music all of a sudden because of the fascist restrictions UF has on file sharing. Any help/tips/advice would be greatly appreciated.

• Wow dude, if you like filesharing you sure picked the wrong university to live on campus at. Not only was UF one of the first schools to implement an anti-filesharing policy and software, its network security team has actually won national competitions.

However, you can try using protocol header encryption in uTorrent, Azureus or BitComet. There's also apparently a way to use Google as a proxy server for BT downloads, but don't ask me how it's done. In both of the above cases, your download performance is gonna far worse than if there were no restrictions.

My advice to you if you: move off campus and get Cox cable access. Works for me.

Windows 8.1 Professional // EAC | foobar2000 // FLAC Compression Level 8

• bummed it might have to come down to that but thanks for the help.

• Redigerad av Scandinavianblu den 12 aug 2008, 20:30
  • Fascist restrictions. That's funny.
    While the illegality might be part of it, the real reasons for restricting P2P are viruses and the amount of bandwidth it uses.

• did you figure out a way yet?

• If you guys want to torrent while on DHNet you can try services like imageshack has: http://tor.imageshack.us/tor/ . Really that's the only way if you don't have access to an FTP server, or don't have a remote connection off campus. If anyone needs help or whatever my AIM is PLUCKcitizen.

• RPar99 sa...
    • Användare
    • 23 feb 2009, 22:41

heh...