Epic / Traditional Doom with clean, understandable vocals?

• V_Shaft sa...
    • Användare
    • 16 maj 2011, 10:52

Epic / Traditional Doom with clean, understandable vocals?

I'm relatively new to the epic doom genre, so I was wondering if some of the veterans out here could recommend some other doom (preferably epic, but also traditional) metal bands with clean, strong and understandable vocals, meaning I can actually make out the lyrics?

"While Heaven Wept" would be my perfect epic doom band. Great music, with clean, audible and strong vocals. Isole would be somewhere in the middle, because the vocals are somewhat drowned in the music. On the other hand, Scald is a band who does not appeal to me because I can't understand a single word the vocalist sings, even though I find the music itself to my liking.

There are too many bands I've heard I like musically, and then the vocal starts screeching or growling, or on the opposite hand, mumbling softly, and it all goes to hell for me.

Thanks in advance.

• erx98 sa...
    • Användare
    • 21 maj 2011, 06:08

Suggestions

Some of this bands are split up/ hard to find but perhaps you might like some of them.

Dawn of winter
    Doomshine
    Seamount
    Left Hand Solution
    Solstice

Pentagram USA (Not turkish heavy metal band Pentagram)
    Place of skulls
    The Obsessed
    Spirit Caravan

Spiritus Mortis
    Serpent
    Trouble
    Wall of sleep
    Eternal Elysium
    Nomad Son
    Forsaken, from Malta, (Not, The Forsaken, death metal from Sweden)

Leif Edling (Candlemass) and his sideprojects are always heavy beyond anything else, however are the lyrics sometimes more spoken.
    Leif Edling-Songs Of Torment - Songs Of Joy
    Abstrakt Algebra-S/T
    Krux- I and II

Not realy doom but quite heavy:
    Grand Magus
    Las Cruces

Lars Johansson (Candlemass) sideprojects are not in the doom genre, more mid tempo but i like them.
    Creozoth-ST 2005
    Zoic-Total level of destruction 1996

• erx98 sa...